Wickens, Dixon to compete in IndyCar Esports event

Esports | April 4th, 2020

Robert Wickens, Scott Dixon, Ed Carpenter and Jack Harvey have been confirmed in this weekend’s second round of the IndyCar iRacing Challenge, the Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama presented by AmFirst, from a virtual Barber Motorsports Park.

Wickens, who hasn’t raced a car since his career was put on hold by a huge shunt at Pocono Raceway in August 2018, tweeted out his thanks along with footage of him piloting a simulator that uses hand controls for throttle and brakes.

Wickens will run a Lucas Oil bedecked Arrow McLaren SP-Chevrolet entry along with the drivers who he advises, team newcomers Patricio O’Ward and Oliver Askew, the latter of whom finished fifth in last week’s race at a virtual Watkins Glen.

This Barber race, being held on the same weekend that the NTT IndyCar Series was supposed to visit the Alabama road course in the original 2020 schedule, will be 45 laps.

Also on the grid will be Scott Dixon in a third Chip Ganassi Racing-Honda, after missing last week’s event, while Jack Harvey will pilot the Meyer Shank Racing-Honda, and Ed Carpenter will enter a second ECR car driving the #21 that in real life will be raced by Rinus VeeKay this year. Carpenter hasn’t raced on a road course since becoming an oval specialist at the end of 2013.

James Hinchcliffe will steer a sixth Andretti Autosport-Honda, as was the intention last week until a system error bounced him off the grid.

All being well, there will be 29 starters for the race which is being shown on NBCSN at 2.30pm ET.

As per last week, Ryan Hunter-Reay will be replaced by Indy Pro 2000 champion Kyle Kirkwood in the #28 Andretti Autosport-Honda, Scott Speed will again sub for Marco Andretti in the #98 Andretti-Herta entry, while Sebastien Bourdais remains in Charlie Kimball’s Tresiba-backed A.J. Foyt Racing-Chevy.

NASCAR legend Jimmie Johnson continues as an IndyCar iRacing Challenge invitee, while Scott McLaughlin will again drive the #2 Team Penske-Chevrolet.

Last week’s race was won by Sage Karam of Dreyer & Reinbold Racing-Chevrolet, ahead of Ganassi’s Felix Rosenqvist and Penske’s Will Power.

Car #DriverEntryTeam/Engine
1Josef NewgardenHitachi Team PenskeTeam Penske-Chevrolet
2Scott McLaughlinShell V-Power Team PenskeTeam Penske-Chevrolet
4Sebastien BourdaisTresibaA.J. Foyt Enterprises-Chevrolet
5Patricio O’WardArrow McLaren SPArrow McLaren SP-Chevrolet
6Robert WickensArrow McLaren SPArrow McLaren SP-Chevrolet
7Oliver AskewArrow McLaren SPArrow McLaren SP-Chevrolet
8Marcus EricssonHuski Chocolate Chip Ganassi RacingChip Ganassi Racing-Honda
9Scott DixonPNC BankChip Ganassi Racing-Honda
10Felix RosenqvistNTT Data Chip Ganassi RacingChip Ganassi Racing-Honda
11Kyle KaiserJuncos RacingJuncos Racing-Chevrolet
12Will PowerVerizon Team PenskeTeam Penske-Chevrolet
14Tony KanaanABC SupplyA.J. Foyt Racing-Chevrolet
15Graham RahalUnited RentalsRahal Letterman Lanigan Racing-Honda
18Santino FerrucciSealMasterDale Coyne Racing with Vasser Sullivan-Honda
20Conor DalyU.S. Air ForceEd Carpenter Racing-Chevrolet
21Ed CarpenterEd Carpenter RacingEd Carpenter Racing-Chevrolet
22Simon PagenaudMenards Team PenskeTeam Penske-Chevrolet
24Sage KaramDRR Wix FiltersDreyer & Reinbold Racing-Chevrolet
26Zach VeachGainbridgeAndretti Autosport-Honda
27Alexander RossiAutoNation/NAPA Auto PartsAndretti Autosport-Honda
28Kyle KirkwoodDHLAndretti Autosport-Honda
29James HinchcliffeGenesysAndretti Autosport-Honda
41Dalton KellettK-Line InsulatorsA.J. Foyt Enterprises-Chevrolet
48Jimmie JohnsonJimmie Johnson RacingIiR provisional entry-Chevrolet
55Alex PalouDale Coyne Racing with Team GohDale Coyne Racing with Team Goh-Honda
59Felipe NasrGallagher CarlinCarlin-Chevrolet
60Jack HarveyAutoNation/Sirius XMMeyer Shank Racing-Honda
88Colton HertaCapstoneAndretti Harding Steinbrenner Autosport-Honda
98Scott SpeedU.S. Concrete/CurbAndretti Herta with Marco & Curb-Agajanian-Honda

Source: Motorsport.com